I’ve never been one to shy away from home improvements.  I enjoy tearing things up in my home space to improve… even if I don’t exactly know what I’m doing.  Maybe the unknown is exciting to me, or maybe I just don’t know my own limitations.  I do know a few things, like how to read a tape measure and how to use a drill.  Oh, and I can read directions, whether they make sense or not is somebody else’s problem.  Yesterday I tore out a very small section of wall in my bathroom.  It had some sort of funny growth on it, which scared me… so I pulled it down.  Behind it was lathe & plaster… which is the old school (circa 1930) way of ‘drywalling’ a home.  Now I’m faced with the challenge of re-drywalling the torn out section, covering that with mastic (thick, sandy glue) and covering THAT with tile.  At the end of the day, this job may end up being pretty big.  But for now, I’m actually looking forward to it.  Did I say that I’ve never done this before?  Well, I’ve helped*, but never been at the reigns.  So here we go!

*looked on from a distance.

