img_0017I spent December 23rd between 7-8pm backstage (for the most part) at church.  It was the first of three Christmas eve services we’re doing.  The roads were getting bad throughout the evening, and the longer I sat backstage in the dark, the more I wanted to get home.  In fact, the only thing I could see backstage (because it was so dark) was the exit.  I just wanted to stand up and walk out.  Luckily for me, I didn’t.  It was a great service.  Plus… I’d like to keep my job.  But don’t get me wrong.  I wanted to leave.  In a bad way.

How bizarre it is that as humans, we just want to get everything over with?  On the long and slow and slippery drive home last night after the service, I thought about how screwed up it was that I sat backstage, pining to get home.  I was in the middle of something great, and I just kept my eye on that exit.  I sure am glad Jesus didn’t do that.

