I stayed up late on Friday night so I could sleep in on Saturday.  Because my normal schedule gets me to bed before the clock goes into the double digits and back up in the early single digits, I have to try everything I can to trick my body on the weekends into staying in bed.  Well, this week I tried something new.  I stayed up until I got tired, and then got up when I wasn’t tired anymore.  And it worked out to be an extra hour of sleep for me than normal.  That tells me that maybe my day-to-day schedule isn’t really all that bad.  The math doesn’t lie, even when my body does.  Most mornings I feel like I could sleep for the rest of the week, even though I really am missing only an hour per day.  If you figure one full REM cycle is 90 minutes, and really only 30 minutes of that is REM, you could gather that only 1/3 of my lack of sleep is really important.  So as far as the math goes, I’m only cheating myself of 20 important minutes of sleep.  Twenty minutes.  Let’s be honest… I sometimes spend 20 minutes reading junk mail or investigating smells.  And when I think about it, it makes me feel like a whiney baby.  Do me a favor.  Punch my face if I complain about being tired.

