I just led worship at job #1 and am riding the adrenaline from that.  Once I get home and have a chance to catch my breath (and wash the morning off), I’ll pack up and go to see some good pals in Monroe & lead some worship for them.  As I was walking into office #3 this afternoon, I remembered something…

I don’t know if it was Tomlin or Crowder or some other supra-eccentric worship mega-star that said it, but one of those guys told a story one time about leading worship at places other than home.  Basically the story went something like this…
“I had what I thought was a really great worship service at home on Sunday.  The congregation didn’t see it quite the same way, though, because not many were singing, and out of those, most of them were only doing it out of respect, not out of attitudes of worship.  Then I had an event to lead on Tuesday night.  When I got to the gig, the people in charge told me that due to flooding over the weekend, most of the people with tickets to the event weren’t going to be there.  But they had made arrangements for several private schools to be there, which would make a VERY small worship concert less awkward.  As I took the stage for the show, I noticed that a lot of the kids had either canes or very large hearing aids.  The show was fantastic, but the teens were either facing the wrong way or singing different songs (or at least different melodies).  After the show, when I asked the administration what they thought, they were overjoyed, and explained to me that the teens they brought in were from a special needs school in the area, and that most of the kids there were either blind or def.

Whoever it was that told the story went on to explain how bizarre it is to be a worship leader in a local church and to travel & lead worship.  Partly because it’s a major struggle (albeit a great one) to stay grounded, and partly because the local church tends to get a bit comfortable.  Let me say this… I’m not saying that the local church is a bad thing.  I LOVE the church.  But it’s funny sometimes how mundain we get with church.  That’s all.

