School supplies always got me excited as a kid.  I had to go to the mall every year just before school started and buy all sorts of pencils & pens, markers, notebooks & folders with my favorite cartoons on them… the list goes on and on.  I’ve never seen the cold, hard numbers, but I’d be willing to bet that I spent between $50-$100 every year on book bags and lunch boxes and calculators and pencil cases.  On a side note, what real purpose do pencil cases even have?  Do real people truly use them?  I used to just fill them with candy and hide it in my desk.  Back to the topic…  The thought of buying school supplies got me cranked up for school.  Obviously the supplies were a ploy to get me to be excited for school… which worked for a few years.  Eventually I realized, however, that pencils weren’t nearly as exciting as I’d made them out to be.
When I really thought about the school supplies, I realized that my excitement wasn’t for the crayons and the Hulkamania lunchbox.  The excitement was for a new start… a fresh set of ‘stuff’ to get things done with.  A Goonies branded book bag full of everything I could ever possibly need to accomplish what a teacher might assign.
Scripture talks about school supplies.  Well, not exactly school supplies, but it talks about this idea of having what we need to accomplish whatever comes our way.  Ephesians 1:3 says that God has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing.  Pencils & paper?  Probably not.  But grace & forgiveness?  Absolutely.  You may not have a Jesus branded lunchbox, but you’ve got peace and humility and patience and self-control.
As you’re getting your kids or yourself ready to go back to school or work or whatever, think about this… if God’s given us every spiritual blessing, what more could we need to get done the things He’s set aside for us to do?  Ephesians 2:10 says that God has created us and we are made to do good works.  And if that’s true, then not only do we have our assignment, but we also have the tools to get it done. Amen?

