This is one of those ‘I’m watching/listening to/reading/consuming this stuff, and so should you’ posts.  I don’t claim to be an expert in music or books or movies or ANYTHING, really, but here’s some stuff I’ve been taking in lately.  Enjoy.

#1, and I put this at number one because it’s a life-changer (not to be confused with the awesome camp in Detroit). It’s a book by Bono called ‘On The Move’.  It’s really just a speech that Bono has given on the African AIDS situation, put into book-form with AMAZINGLY moving images.  This will break you.  That is, if you have a soul.

#2, ‘God’s Gravity,’ by Craig Borlase, is a short book about the way that Jesus Christ called his disciples to certain things/ideas, and how we (the church) have gotten pretty far from the original ideas.  This is thought-provoking.  If nothing else, it will give you some fairly difficult questions to answer.  It’s entertaining, but even more, it’s a great tool for Christ-like ministry.

#3,

Viva La Vida, by Coldplay.  This is one of those weird and mysterious albums that you don’t have to hit fast forward on.  I think Chris Martin uses Voodoo to write songs, because this album is way too good for mere mortals to have put it together.  I say buy buy buy.

#4, Skeletons From The Closet: The Best of The Grateful Dead.  I’m not a weed-enthusiast.  I’m not even an ‘herb-friendly’ slow talker.  I just love the Grateful Dead… at least, their best-of.  And this album makes me smile.

#5, VH1’s Free Radio.  If you haven’t experienced this amazing display of stupidity mixed with great morning show antics, you really are missing out on something special.  VH1’s site has the whole 1st season online, and if you’re not careful, you could waste a whole afternoon watching this train wreck.  Then again, maybe this is just too good of a mirror for me.

I hope this gives you something new to spend time with.  Maybe you find something here you can use.  Or something that really wastes your time.  Either way, there’s no need to thank me.

