I don’t know what histimines are. In my mind, they’re the weird dusty little varmints* stuck in the screen door every spring that have to be surgically removed semi-annually. I don’t know what antihistimines are, either, other than that they come in pink and white pills and make me almost dangerous behind the wheel. I know (or assume) that antihistimines fight histimines. The name kind of gives that part away. For some reason or another (I blame it on a bad gene pool), I don’t have any internal antihistimines, so I have to add them to my immune system by use of drugs. Lately, I’ve had to add those pink and white pills to my system quite regularly. The histimines (or ‘bad guys’) have been attacking me with vengeance recently. And that translates to me being sick. Or at least sounding like a cross between Kermit the Frog and Barry White.

Here’s what I’m thinking through right this minute (besides questioning my decision of a #4 from taco bell for lunch)… I hate histimines because they make me sick. Should I, then, hate anti-histimines because they’re part of the problem?

UPDATE:  After hearing from a pharma-medi-genius, I’ve come into a new set of information.  The deal is this…  Histimines are things that live inside of me.  They work at getting rid of irritants (the dust and dander and junk), but in doing so, they also cause heat (which leads to inflammation and redness), which causes mucus to melt (which sounds REALLY gross), causing all of the dripping (and moreover, the kleenex stock to rise).  So with this information, I’m seeing that maybe I don’t hate something far away and foreign.  Instead, I hate something that is actually inside of me.  Something that is trying to heal me actually gives me grief.  Isn’t that true, though?  I mean… when we are being refined and healed and made more like Christ, we fear and hate the fire.  And yet, when the fire has done its job, we are TOTALLY made new.  Isn’t it always that way?  PS, thanks for the wicked awesome info, pastor/doctor/drug pusher Brandon.

*southern word for anything other than immediate family**.

**depending on where you’re from, the word family could mean people and/or animals from the same or different genomes.

