I took a train from Jackson, Michigan to Chicago, Illinois a few months ago.  It was an experience I’ll never forget.  In fact, I hope I never forget anything about the train ride.  It was probably the strangest single traveling experience I’ve ever had.  It took about six hours to go a total of 250 miles.  That’s not very fast moving.  The reason it took all day was because of all of the train traffic.  Each time another train was on the same track, our train would pull over and make way for them.  And it happened a lot.  So when I heard about the train wreck in China that’s killed nearly 75 people, I was stunned.  How on earth could you possibly have a head-on collision with trains?  Too many safeguards are in place for that to happen.  That’s not really my reason for talking about trains.  I actually tell you that to tell you this…

I’ve been in that awkward, fledgling relationship dance for about a month now, and in my mind, here’s what it looks like.  The two of us are like those trains from algebra class.  Her train’s going 50mph from New York and my train’s going 50mph from New York.  You’d think that we’d meet up somewhere just outside St Louis.  But instead, things changed, and it seems as though instead of crashing in St Louis, my train got there too soon and hers took a different track.  What, you ask, am I talking about?  This…  no matter how many safeguards and policies and rules and bumpers and headgear and orange vests and whistles you have, your train can still derail.  And no matter how many pads and mouth-guards and safety checks you have, sometimes you still have a crash.

