MMBC’s News Years Retreats

Originally uploaded by benh2o

This is a picture of probably the coolest bunch of teens I know…
except for you, of course. I took this picture at the annual New Year
Retreat with the Monroe Missionary Baptist Church. We went way up
north to the winter wonderland that is Morley, Michigan. It’s also
known as the ‘tow truck driver’s dream.’ Lots of snow, lots of hills
and deep ditches.

The retreat was incredible. Plenty of card games to play, plenty of
hills for sledding, plenty of food to eat, and plenty of free time to
hang with teens. I think I heard more high school drama stories and
who-likes-who stories than I’ve ever heard in my entire life. And it
was wonderful. The teens were SUPER warm and friendly. In fact, I
can’t wait to spend time with these guys again.

Here are my top four experiences from the retreat… First, the
people. Talk about incredible! Second, probably the facilities. The
chapel was a hand-built log cabin, made of logs harvested right on
site. The bathrooms were clean and smelled (don’t know how) like
christmas. And the lodge with fireplace was such a great place to sit
around. Third has to be the separate adult dormitory. Sleeping in a
room with teens is something that you have to prepare yourself for a
little more than I did this time. Fourth is the food. There was a
steady stream of food that just kept getting better and better… I
think our cooks were ex-military kitchen staff. And fifth is
absolutely the chapel services. The youth pastor, Steve Pilarsh, let
the services take on life of their own. He challenged the teens with
very good, very powerful, very teen-friendly biblical insight, then
I’d just lead them through worship. The teens latched on and didn’t
let go. The experience was a lot better than what I’d planned for or
hoped. And yet, I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised. God tends
to show up when we call Him out. All that to say this… I went up
north this weekend with a bunch of teens, hoping to make some new
friends and play a few games, maybe sing a few songs. And I came back
having met with God. Thanks, MMBC teens! You guys are totally my
favorite. (Except for you, because everybody knows that You’re my
favorite!!!)  So I’m going to sleep away the rest of the first day of the year… I’m so tired that I miscalculated the number of rockin’ things about the retreat… and forgot to mention that it snowed 16 inches as a welcome home down in the southern half of the state.  🙂

