My favorite movie growing up (after, of course, The Goonies, PeeWee’s Big Adventure, and The Burbs) was Popeye. It was the musical adaptation of the comic strip about the lovable, yet gruff sailor, Popeye. Robin Williams played Popeye and Shelly Duvall played Olive Oyl. Robert Altman, of the ‘The Player’ & ‘MASH’ fame directed the movie. It was ahead of its time, I think… the critics hated it for the most part. Reason being, the real-live-action version of Popeye wasn’t much like the comic strip or the cartoon.

So today, while minding my own business at Walmart, I stumbled upon a bin in the DVD section of $5 movies. And what was right on top, staring at me as if it were waiting for me? That’s right, Popeye. Don’t know why I’m telling you about my personal life or why I decided to explain the film. Anyway, if you haven’t seen Popeye, do so. It’s good. Not Gladiator good, not Reign Over Me good, but still good. You can borrow my copy.

