Ever wonder if thanksgiving is getting the shaft when it comes to festive songs?  Oh, sure, there are a few in the back of the hymnal (that book you use to keep steady when writing notes in church), but seriously, those aren’t all that great.  What kind of music do you hear at thanksgiving?  Christmas songs.  So what we are saying as a society is that we care so much about a holiday that on that day, rather than celebrating and having a good time, we’re preparing for the next holiday.  Now, don’t get me wrong… I love christmas music.  So much so, in fact, that I start singing and whistling it right around the time that halloween costumes come out at the stores.  But maybe we ought to take a day or two and think up some thanksgiving songs to sing.  I’ve done some research, actually, on thanksgiving songs.  Here are my findings…

There are a total of eleven songs in the hymnal I’ve got (it’s currently keeping my desk from wobbling) that are under the thanksgiving index.  Of those eleven, I’m gonna write out about half… they talk about thanking God, maybe, but the topics weren’t thankfulness.  So I did what I should’ve probably done long ago.  I went to the scripture.  And after looking through what seemed like endless psalms that were based on thanks, I found a song that we should be singing at thanksgiving time.  Here’s the song and the reference…

Exodus 15:1-5

“I will sing to the LORD,
for he is highly exalted.
The horse and its rider
he has hurled into the sea.

2 The LORD is my strength and my song;
he has become my salvation.
He is my God, and I will praise him,
my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

3 The LORD is a warrior;
the LORD is his name.

4 Pharaoh’s chariots and his army
he has hurled into the sea.
The best of Pharaoh’s officers
are drowned in the Red Sea. [a]

5 The deep waters have covered them;
they sank to the depths like a stone.

That’s my kind of thanksgiving song.  Sitting around the table after a fat turkey meal, laughing at each other and singing the old song of Miriam.  Happy Thanksgiving, my friends!

