Being a worship guy, I get asked a question regularly by well-meaning christians… “What kind of worship music do you like?  How do you worship when you’re not at church?”  My first response is always to laugh.  Not that I’m trying to disenchant the inquisitive, but it’s funny to me to see the thought process of people sometimes.  Honestly, about 10% of my job is actually “leading worship.”  40% of the job is relating to people, both in the band and in the congregation (or staff, for that matter).  The other 50% of the job is administrating ministry.  Filing, making copies, getting band members assigned to dates, making more copies, researching historical church, making more stupid copies, stocking musical and ministry supplies, putting out volunteer fires, making more of those hateful copies… the list goes on.  All that to say the following…

The second response that I’ve got for the questions is always (i think) a little weird for people to take.  Worshiping as a worship leader is strange, to be honest.  I rarely, if ever, ask myself to stand and sing with me.  And, because of my weird mind, that’s what comes to mind when I think of private, personal worship.  My worship life (private, personal worship time) works like this…  I worship through music, obviously, but not JUST worship music.  In fact, lately, I’ve been worshiping to James Taylor‘s new album, One Man Band.  It’s a beautiful album… live, just JT, his $18,000 Olson guitar and a piano player.  Simple, amazing music.  The songs aren’t exactly worship songs, and the guy may or may not be a believer.  But the music resounds deep inside, and that’s where I worship.  I suggest, if you haven’t heard it, to go to the James Taylor website and have a listen.  Maybe you can worship along with him.  😉

