I installed (with the help of a tech-savvy buddy) a subwoofer into my car this winter.  Now, because I can have more bass in the cabin of the car than God intended, I have this weird obsession with rap music.  Not that I would never listen to rap music, but it is about ten steps to the left of my normal musical taste.

Lately, the song of choice as I drive through town is Jesus Walks, by Kanye West.  The song itself, I have yet to figure out.  Some of that is due to the fact that I can’t understand the words he says… gosh, he talks fast.  Anyway, what I’m assuming the song means (even if it doesn’t) is that Christ is among us.  He goes with.  That’s pretty scriptural.

What I like about that idea is the same thing that I don’t like.  I love the idea that Christ is with me all the time.  But for me, and maybe for you, too, I don’t always want Christ to come along.  There are things in my life that sometimes I don’t want Jesus tagging along to see.  Road-Rage, office frustrations, staff meetings-gone-awry.

The more I think about it, the more I love and hate the idea.  Jesus with me.  All the time.  Thoughts?

