I made chicken noodle soup today for lunch.  Not with chicken, mind you, but with chicken broth and spaghetti noodles.  (maybe I’ve been watching too much food network without proper training.)  Noodles and boiling water in one pot, canned chicken broth, sans can, in another pot.  The stove top was working overtime to make the foods I’ve set upon it piping hot for my consumptional needs.  The way in which I planned on making the meal was to cook the broth and the noodles separately until just before I ate.  I don’t exactly know what I’m doing in the kitchen, but like I said, I’ve been watching the food network.  The soup was great.  Like a cross between Campbell’s Chicken Noodle from childhood and the $.08 pack of Top Ramen Noodles that we all know so well from college.

When I finished lunch, I met a friend for a cup of coffee and some conversation.  After he left, I just sat there at the shop kind of thinking about lunch.  And God.  And here’s what came to mind.

God’s will is perfect.  And good.  Scripture lets us know that.  My will is far from perfect sometimes.  In fact, I’d go as far as to say that my will is pretty close to the direct opposite of God’s will sometimes. I suppose it’s a little bit like the noodles and broth that I was cooking.  Two very different things are happening in two different pots.  But the longer the two things cook, the closer they become.  As I change and transform more into what God has for me to be, my will changes.  And eventually, my will, like the noodles, will end up being very much a part of God’s will.  Thoughts?

