hearts.jpgEver have that dream where you walk around school/work/the mall in your underwear?  The feeling is crazy.  I have that dream on a fairly regular basis.  I get out of bed, do the bathroom routine, find coffee and toast, then go to work.  And I interact with people, greet coworkers, answer phone calls, have whole conversations… without my pants on.  I don’t realize that I’m not wearing pants until someone points out the fact that there aren’t pants where there should be pants.  And rather than hide behind something, I laugh.  But then I find pants in the lost and found box.  What a strange dream.   I’m no counselor, (and I don’t really play one on TV), but I have a very strong feeling that the dream is about feeling exposed ((probably emotionally)) to people.

If you’ve had the dream, you know what I’m talking about.  I don’t want to come across like I hate that dream.  I think it’s funny.  I wake myself up laughing when I have it.  But the moment I wake up, I put on a second pair of pajama pants.  Kidding.  But seriously, my point is not that I like the dream.  In fact, the dream has little to do with my thought.  Just a pre-story.  You need that to get to what’s coming.

There are a few people in my life that I am totally exposed to.  And I don’t run from that.  I don’t question the safety of others knowing me deeply.  I don’t cower in fear after I share a deep, dark secret.  Instead, I cherish it.  Like the “casual fridays” dream, I almost enjoy the fact that people know me deeply.  Call it accountability, call it relationship, call it ‘keepin-it-real.  No matter what you call it, it’s the same thing…. you’re walking around in your underwear with these people.  Figuratively, of course.  Thoughts?

